all report title image

Market Size and Trends

估计有轨电车系统市场价值 美元 136.67 Bn (韩语) 2024年统计 预计将达到 美元 304.72 Bn (韩语) 2031年之前以复合年增长率增长 2024年至2031年占12.1%。。 。 。

Tram Systems Market Key Factors

To learn more about this report, request a free sample copy

有轨电车系统市场预计将在今后几年出现正增长趋势。 随着城市化程度的提高和对生态友好型公共交通解决方案的日益重视,全世界许多城市都在投资发展有轨电车网络. 此外,电动车辆技术和能源储存解决方案的进步正在提高有轨电车的效率和可持续性。 许多旨在加强城市连通性和减少交通拥堵的新有轨电车项目正在开发或规划阶段。 然而,高额的初始基础设施投资仍然是在新市场扩大有轨电车系统的关键挑战。 持续进行技术创新以降低项目成本和提高运营效率对于今后的市场增长至关重要。

市场驱动力:减少交通拥挤

有轨电车系统市场增长的主要驱动力之一是需要减少全世界主要城市地区的交通拥堵。 大城市道路交通量不断上升,导致通勤时间长,生产时数浪费,空气和噪音污染增加。 道路基础设施不堪重负,难以应付急剧增加的车辆数量,城市迅速耗尽空间扩大现有道路或修建新高速公路。 电车系统通过提供另一种交通方式,为缓解交通堵塞提供了可行的解决办法。

与公交车等其他运输车辆相比,电车的载客能力要高得多,在路上占用的空间也比单车少. 单轨电车在一次运行中可以搭载数百人,从而减少了道路上的车辆数量. 电车还运行在与正常交通流量分开的指定轨道上,消除了瓶颈。 这确保了通勤者有可靠和一致的旅行时间。 随着更多的人转向使用有轨电车满足日常通勤需求,这大幅削减了车辆流量. 城市正在积极投资扩大地铁和有轨电车网络,为居民提供城市内部旅行的高效公共交通选择,而不必依赖私人车辆. 许多城市规划当局正在推动有轨电车成为综合多式联运系统的重要组成部分,以减轻对现有道路基础设施的压力。

Market Concentration and Competitive Landscape

Tram Systems Market Concentration By Players

To learn more about this report, request a free sample copy

环境可持续性

推动全球采用有轨电车网络的另一个主要因素是推动更具环境可持续性的运输。 随着气候变化和不可再生能源枯竭的威胁迫在眉睫,各国政府和公民都注重向更绿色的旅行模式过渡。 拖车是私人车辆的生态友好型替代品,这些车辆是拥挤城市中有害排放和空气污染的最大来源之一。 单轨电车可以取代路上数百辆汽油或柴油车,导致温室气体排放量和碳足迹显著降低. 此外,有轨电车通过高架电缆供电,由主电网供电。 随着更多城市更新其电力基础设施以整合可再生能源,有轨电车将逐步变得更加可持续。

通过电力和节能的公共交通(如有轨电车)迁移大批人口,也减少了对化石燃料和石油进口的依赖。 它支持国家能源安全目标。

Tram Systems Market Key Takeaways From Lead Analyst

To learn more about this report, request a free sample copy

市场挑战: 初始投资需求高

许多城市的现有基础设施需要升级,以整合有轨电车线路,而有轨电车线路成本高昂,往往面临倒退。 此外,还有向电动车辆过渡的压力,电动车辆必须采用电池或电挂技术加以改造。 由于更多地采用共享骑车服务,骑车人数减少,电子车也威胁到收入。 与过去的趋势相比,年轻一代对公共交通似乎不太感兴趣。 建设有轨电车网络需要很长的规划期,而且由于技术和过境优惠的迅速变化,在完成时可能失去相关性。

市场机会: 在新城市扩大有轨电车线路和网络

越来越多的城市人口需要解决有轨电车可以帮助解决的交通拥堵问题。 环境举措正在促使城市投资于绿色大众过境网络。 采用自主驾驶能力可以降低运营成本,提高可靠性。

Tram Systems Market By Type

To learn more about this report, request a free sample copy

透视, 按类型 - 舒适度和灵活性驱动 Straddle Monorail 收养

就类型而言,跨界单轨铁路占市场份额最高,因为与其它单轨铁路技术相比,该铁路在2024年拥有向乘客提供舒适和灵活旅行经验的独特能力,占69.1%。 Straddle单轨运行在比列车本身更宽的高架轨道上,使列车能够横跨轨道两侧,以提高稳定性. 这种宽轨设计为旅行者提供了平滑无震动的骑行,即使在高速运行时,也没有在悬浮或提升的单轨上感受到直接运行在轨电车上的摇摆. 露天平台和宽阔的横跨式单轨车道使乘客空间最大化,使内部感觉相当舒适. 这种宽敞性提高了城市内长途通勤和短途旅行的舒适度。

横跨式设计还使路由具有灵活性。 轨迹可以安装在曲线周围,并比其他单轨类型更容易安装桥梁等具有挑战性的地形. 这使跨界单一铁路网络能够进入城市和区域过境系统内更多的目的地。 修改路线的灵活性开辟了住宅区与商业区或旅游景点之间的新的连接选择. 城市和中转机构由于旅行经验的好处和路线的多用途性而倾向于各自网络的横贯铁路。 新的设施和系统扩展继续增加跨界单轨驾驶和市场份额。

洞察力,通过自主-简单化驱动对半自主的需求 电车系统

在自主性方面,半自主有轨电车系统在2024年贡献了最大份额,因为与完全自主的选项相比,其简单性和适应性在47.2%. 半自主有轨电车具有加速度,制动等自动驱动功能,并遵循指定的导线路径,但在必要时仍有导线留在机上进行干预,并在车站开门. 这种"司机辅助"模式提供了较为先进的自主车辆的许多流量和效率效益,同时避免了完全清除导体的技术挑战和成本. 过境机构倾向于采用半自主的办法,因为它利用现有训练有素的人员和业务程序。

对于乘客来说,有一位指挥员的存在通过提供客户服务,出行规划协助,以及熟悉的人类安全要素,增强了旅行体验. 与乘坐无驾驶车辆相比,这种简便使得半自主的有轨电车更容易让年长和年轻的乘客理解和信任. 如果自主函数发生可能危及乘客的错误,混合人机控制也提供倒置冗余. 由于可靠和经过验证的技术既能节省成本,又能提供熟悉的服务质量,因此全球半自主电车的使用率不断上升,这驱动了它们巨大的市场份额,而不是手工和完全的。 自动 竞争对手。

透视,通过推进型环境效益和降低基础设施成本

在推进型方面,电动单轨在2024年所占市场份额最高,因为其环境和经济优势高于磁石竞争者。 电动单轨由高架线路供电,通过锅炉向列车输送电力,从而不再需要机上燃料储存和推进部件. 这简化了车辆设计,降低了资本成本. 它还消除了火车运营中的当地排放,这对过境服务的人口密集地区的空气质量十分重要。 当电力来自可再生资源时,电动单轨提供非常干净的交通。

电动单轨的基础设施使用高轨和悬浮电线,建造费用也往往低于需要精密对齐和磁场发电机的精密磁浆导线。 如果线路需要更长的导线或穿过重大的自然障碍,电动单轨建筑预算就比磁石占优势。 这使得电力单轨成为大多数城市和区域环境中快速过境网络的首选和最具成本效益的推进选择。 随着对可持续性、承受能力和能源安全的关切增加;电动单轨铁路吸引更多的司机,并看到对其他推进技术的需求日益增加。

Regional Insights

Tram Systems Market Regional Insights

To learn more about this report, request a free sample copy

北美一直是全球有轨电车系统市场的主导地区,这在2024年中已持续多年37.2%. 该地区拥有一些最大的有轨电车制造商. 这些城市拥有牢固的生产和供应链网络。 纽约,芝加哥,旧金山等许多北美城市都拥有宽敞的有轨电车网络,可以看到高架车. 这些城市的持续需求转化为对制造商的稳定订单. 此外,对更新老化的基础设施进行高额投资、为公共过境项目提供资金以及严格的排放规范等因素有利于该区域。 然而,与其他区域相比,北美的制造业成本也相对较高.

亚太地区已成为近年来增长最快的有轨电车系统市场. 快速城市化、对污染的日益关切以及对公共交通的投资以减少道路拥堵,是推动市场增长的一些关键驱动因素。 中国和印度等人口众多的国家正在认识到高效的大众运输系统对发展中国家经济的作用。 几个新项目正在 管道 (a) 今后五年内,亚太区域各大城市将开展能力建设活动。 这为当地和国际公司提供了大量机会。 由于规模经济和成本基础较低,亚太制造商在全球市场扩张方面也采取了相当积极的行动。 然而,诸如获得土地的挑战和不断演变的监管框架等因素有时会影响到一些国家基础设施发展的速度。

总体而言,虽然北美目前领先于有轨电车系统产业,但由于巨大的基本需求和对公共交通基础设施的关注,亚太地区被视为未来的增长引擎. 由于北美的市场条件更加成熟和活跃,它为多国公司提供了利用区域机会的理想基础。 与此同时,来自亚太地区的新兴行为者也稳步加强其全球形象。

Market Report Scope

电车系统市场报告覆盖面

报告范围细节
基准年 :2023 (英语).2024年市场规模:136.67 Bn (美元)
历史数据:2019年到2023年统计.预测周期 :2024年改为2031年
2024至2031 CAGR期预测:12.1%2031 (英语). 数值预测 :304.72 Bn (单位:美元)
覆盖的地理:
  • 北美: 美国和加拿大
  • 拉丁美洲: 巴西、阿根廷、墨西哥和拉丁美洲其他地区
  • 欧洲: 德国、英国、法国、意大利、俄罗斯和欧洲其他地区
  • 亚太: 中国、印度、日本、澳大利亚、韩国、东盟和亚太其他地区
  • 中东和非洲: 海湾合作委员会国家、南非、中东其他地区和非洲
所涵盖的部分:
  • 按类型 : 悬浮单曲
  • 通过自主: 半自主、完全自主和手工
  • 按推进类型: 电动Monorail和Maglev Monorail
涵盖的公司:

轰炸机公司CRRC有限公司, 铁道Ansaldo STS、BYD Company ltd、通用电气、Alstom S.A.、Thales集团、SIEMens AG、三菱电气和ABB

增长动力:
  • 海上海盗活动
  • 针对商业船只的恐怖活动
限制和挑战:
  • 初始投资需求高
  • 密集城市地区的有限路线

Key Developments

  • 2023年2月,CRRC(英语:CRRC) 长春是中国一家专门制造铁路运输设备,包括列车,机车及相关部件的公司. 引进中国重庆首列中容量单轨列车. 这条横跨式单轨 拥有出色的攀登能力 紧凑的转弯半径 以及适应不同环境的能力 每节车厢最多可载客136人,最高行驶速度80km/h. 其灵活设计满足了各种乘客需求,而其轻量级建筑和低噪音使其环境友好.
  • 2022年5月,埃及在开罗揭幕了世界上最大的单轨系统,覆盖东西两区. 位于加拿大的Bombardier Transport公司成功地完成了单轨项目。
  • 2021年3月,由于阿尔斯通公司是一家以制造铁路设备和系统,包括列车,信号解决方案,以及基础设施和CRRC等专业知识闻名的跨国公司,自驾单轨在中国武胡开始运营. 它使用一个名为ATO GOA 4的自动列车操作系统,让它自行运行. 武胡1号线建设投资超过80亿元,有轨电车提速,时速可达80公里. 有了先进的ATO GOA4技术,这个单轨运行时没有驱动程序,独立管理自己.
  • 2020年1月,德国Bahn的混合探险机车,昵称"汉堡",在广东清远消防试验实验室通过了内阁全面防火试验. 这一成就满足了EN 45545消防设计的严格要求,这是目前全球铁路过境业消防安全最严格的标准.

* 定义: 有轨电车系统市场涉及设计、制造、安装和维护城市地区的铁路公共交通基础设施和车辆。 它包括生产和销售在有轨电车轨道上运行的有轨电车或街车,以及必要的支撑系统,如高架电线,铁路,隧道和车站. 这一市场中的公司努力提供可持续和节能的公共交通解决方案,使全球城市的公共交通网络现代化,并减少道路交通拥堵。

Market Segmentation

  • 类型透视(Revue, USD BN, 2019-2031)
    • 草丛单曲
    • 悬念单曲
  • 自主见解(Revenue, USD BN, 2019-2031)
    • 半自主性
    • 完全自治
    • 手动
  • 推进型透视(Revenue, USD BN, 2019-2031)
    • 电动单曲
    • 马格廖夫·莫诺赖尔
  • 区域洞察力(收入,BN,2019-2031年)
    • 北美
      • 美国.
      • 加拿大
    • 拉丁美洲
      • 联合国
      • 联合国
      • 墨西哥
      • 拉丁美洲其他地区
    • 欧洲
      • 德国
      • 吴K.
      • 法国
      • 意大利
      • 俄罗斯
      • 欧洲其他地区
    • 亚太
      • 中国
      • 印度
      • 日本
      • 澳大利亚
      • 韩国
      • 东盟
      • 亚洲及太平洋其他地区
    • 中东和非洲
      • 海合会 国家
      • 南非
      • 中东和非洲其他地区
  • 关键玩家透视
    • 轰炸机公司
    • CRRC 主题 有限公司
    • 铁道
    • 安萨尔多STS
    • BYD公司 Itd
    • 通用电气
    • 阿尔斯通股份有限公司.
    • 泰尔斯集团
    • 赛门斯
    • 三菱电器
    • ABB 银行

Frequently Asked Questions

有轨电车系统市场的CAGR预计将在2024年至2031年达到12.1%.

海上海盗活动和针对商业船只的恐怖活动是推动有轨电车系统市场增长的主要因素。

城市密集地区初始投资要求高,线路有限,是阻碍有轨电车系统市场发展的主要因素.

就类型而言,据估算,在2024年,跨界单一铁路占市场收入份额的主导地位。

Bombardier Corporation, CRRC Corporation Limited, Hitachi Rail, Ansaldo STS, BYD Company ltd, General Electric, Alstom S.A., Thales Group, SIEMENS AG, 三菱电气, ABB是主要角色.

北美预计将在2024年领先有轨电车系统市场.

View Our Licence Options

Need a Custom Report?

We can customize every report - free of charge - including purchasing stand-alone sections or country-level reports

Customize Now

Want to Buy a Report but have a Limited Budget?

We help clients to procure the report or sections of the report at their budgeted price. Kindly click on the below to avail

Request Discount
Logo

Reliability and Reputation

ESOMAR
DUNS Registered
Clutch
DMCA Protected

9001:2015

Reliability and Reputation

27001:2022

Reliability and Reputation

EXISTING CLIENTELE

Joining thousands of companies around the world committed to making the Excellent Business Solutions.

View All Our Clients
trusted clients logo
© 2024 Coherent Market Insights Pvt Ltd. All Rights Reserved.

all report title image

Market Size and Trends

The tram systems market is estimated to be valued at USD 136.67 Bn in 2024 and is expected to reach USD 304.72 Bn by 2031, growing at a compound annual growth rate (CAGR) of 12.1% from 2024 to 2031.

Tram Systems Market Key Factors

To learn more about this report, request a free sample copy

The tram systems market is expected to witness positive growth trends over the next few years. With rising urbanization and increased focus on eco-friendly public transportation solutions, many cities across the world are investing in the development of tram networks. Further, advancements in electric vehicle technology and energy storage solutions are making trams more efficient and sustainable. Many new tram projects aimed at enhancing urban connectivity and reducing traffic congestion are either in the development or planning phase. However, high initial infrastructure investment remains a key challenge for expansion of tram systems in new markets. Continued technological innovations to lower project costs and raise operating efficiencies will be critical for future market growth.

Market Drivers: Reducing Traffic Congestion

One of the primary drivers for the growth of the tram systems market is the need to reduce traffic congestion in major urban areas worldwide. Large cities have been experiencing escalating levels of traffic on roads which has led to long commuting times, wasting of productive hours, and increasing air and noise pollution. The overburdened road infrastructure is struggling to handle the exponentially rising number of vehicles, and cities are fast running out of space to expand existing roads or build new highways. Tram systems present a viable solution to ease traffic congestion by providing an alternative mode of transportation.

Trams have a much higher passenger carrying capacity compared to other transport vehicles like buses, and take up less space on roads than individual cars. A single tram can carry hundreds of people in one go, thus reducing the number of vehicles on the roads. Trams also run on designated tracks which are separate from regular traffic flows, eliminating bottlenecks. This ensures a reliable and consistent travel time for commuters. As more people shift to using trams for their daily commute needs, it substantially cuts down the vehicle traffic volumes. Cities are actively investing in expanding metro and tram networks to offer residents efficient public transportation options for intra-city travel without having to rely on private vehicles. Many urban planning authorities are promoting trams as a vital component of integrated multi-modal transport systems to ease the strain on existing road infrastructure. 

Market Concentration and Competitive Landscape

Tram Systems Market Concentration By Players

To learn more about this report, request a free sample copy

Environmental Sustainability

Another major factor driving the adoption of tram networks globally is the push towards more environmentally sustainable transportation. With the looming threats of climate change and depletion of non-renewable energy sources, governments and citizens alike are focusing on transitioning to greener modes of travel. Trams present an eco-friendly alternative to private vehicles which are one of the biggest sources of harmful emissions and air pollution in crowded cities. A single tram can replace hundreds of gasoline or diesel-fueled cars on the road, resulting in significantly lower greenhouse gas emissions and carbon footprint. Moreover, trams are powered through overhead cables sourcing electricity from the main grid. As more cities upgrade their power infrastructure to integrate renewable energy sources, trams will progressively become even more sustainable.

Moving bulk volumes of people through electrically-powered and energy-efficient public transit like trams also reduces dependence on fossil fuels and oil imports. It supports national energy security aims. 

Tram Systems Market Key Takeaways From Lead Analyst

To learn more about this report, request a free sample copy

Market Challenges: High initial investment requirements

Existing infrastructure in many cities requires upgrades to integrate tram lines which is costly and often faces pushback. Additionally, there is pressure to transition to electric vehicles which trams will have to adapt to with battery or overhead technologies. Ridership declines due to increased adoption of ride-sharing services and e-scooters also threaten revenue. Younger generations appear less interested in public transit relative to past trends. Building tram networks requires extensive planning periods and may lose relevance by the time completed given rapid changes in technology and transit preferences.

Market Opportunities: Expanding tram routes and networks in new cities

Growing urban population demand solutions to traffic congestion which trams can help address. Environmental initiatives are prompting cities to invest in green mass transit networks. Adoption of autonomous driving capabilities could reduce operating costs and improve reliability. 

Tram Systems Market By Type

To learn more about this report, request a free sample copy

Insights, By Type - Comfort and Flexibility Drive the Straddle Monorail Adoption

In terms of type, straddle monorail contributes the highest share of the market owing 69.1% in 2024 to its unique ability to offer passengers a comfortable and flexible travel experience compared to other monorail technologies. Straddle monorails run on elevated tracks that are wider than the trains themselves, allowing the trains to straddle both sides of the track for enhanced stability. This wide track design provides travelers with a smooth, vibration-free ride even at high speeds without the jostling felt on suspended or elevated monorails that run directly on the track. The open-air platform and wide aisle of straddle monorails maximize passenger space, making the interior feel quite roomy. This spaciousness enhances comfort during both long commutes and short trips within cities.

The wide straddle design also enables flexibility in routing. Tracks can be installed around curves and over challenging terrain like bridges more easily than other monorail types. This allows straddle monorail networks to access more destinations within urban and regional transit systems. The flexibility to modify routes opens up new connectivity options between residential areas and business districts or tourist attractions. Cities and transit agencies have favored straddle monorails for their networks due to the travel experience benefits and routing versatility compared to alternatives. New installations and system expansions continue to increase straddle monorail ridership and market share.

Insights, By Autonomy- Simplicity Drives the Demand for Semi-autonomous Tram Systems

In terms of autonomy, semi-autonomous tram systems contributes the largest share owing 47.2% in 2024 to their simplicity and adaptability compared to fully autonomous options. Semi-autonomous trams have automated driving functions like acceleration, braking, and following a designated guide path but a conductor remains onboard to intervene if needed and open doors at stations. This "driver-assisted" model provides many of the traffic flow and efficiency benefits of more advanced autonomous vehicles while avoiding the technical challenges and costs of removing conductors entirely. Transit agencies prefer the semi-autonomous approach as it utilizes existing trained personnel and operational procedures.

For passengers, the presence of a conductor enhances the travel experience by providing customer service, trip planning assistance, and a familiar human element of safety. This simplicity makes semi-autonomous trams easier for older and younger passengers to understand and trust compared to traveling in a driverless vehicle. The hybrid human-computer control also provides fallback redundancy if autonomous functions experience errors that could endanger passengers. With reliable and proven technology that offers both cost savings and a familiar service quality, semi-autonomous trams have seen rising use globally which drives their large market share over manual and fully autonomous competitors.

Insights, By Propulsion Type- Environmental Benefits and Lower Infrastructure Costs Favor Electric Monorails

In terms of propulsion type, electric monorails holds the highest market share owing 71.3% in 2024 due to their environmental and economic advantages over maglev competitors. Electric monorails are powered by overhead lines that deliver electricity to trains via pantographs, eliminating the need for onboard fuel storage and propulsion components. This simplifies vehicle design and lowers capital costs. It also removes local emissions from train operation, important for air quality in densely populated areas serviced by transit. When the electricity comes from renewable sources, electric monorails provide remarkably clean transportation.

The infrastructure for electric monorails, using elevated tracks and suspended wiring, also tends to be less expensive to build than sophisticated maglev guideways requiring precision alignment and magnetic field generators. Where routes require longer guideways or crossing significant natural barriers, electric monorail construction budgets have an edge over maglev. This makes electric monorails the preferred and most cost-effective propulsion choice for rapid transit networks in most city and regional environments. As concerns over sustainability, affordability and energy security grow; electric monorails attract more riders and see rising demand over other propulsion technologies.

Regional Insights

Tram Systems Market Regional Insights

To learn more about this report, request a free sample copy

North America has been the dominant region in the global tram systems market owing 37.2% in 2024 for many years. The region is home to some of the largest tram manufacturers. that have well-established production and supply chain networks across major cities. Many North American cities such as New York, Chicago, and San Francisco have expansive tram networks that see high ridership. The sustained demand from these cities translates to steady orders for manufacturers. Additionally, factors such as high investments in upgrading aging infrastructure, financing availability for public transit projects, and stringent emission norms work in the region's favor. However, manufacturing costs are also relatively high in North America compared to other regions.

The Asia Pacific region has emerged as the fastest growing market for tram systems in recent times. Rapid urbanization, growing concerns over pollution, and investments in public transport to reduce road congestion are some of the key drivers propelling the market growth. Countries like China and India with their large populations are recognizing the role of efficient mass transit systems for the developing economies. Several new projects are in the pipeline over the next five years across major cities in Asia Pacific. This presents considerable opportunities for both local and international companies. With economies of scale and a lower cost base, Asia Pacific manufacturers have also been quite aggressive in global market expansion. However, factors like land acquisition challenges and evolving regulatory frameworks can impact the pace of infrastructure development at times in some nations.

Overall, while North America currently leads the tram systems industry, the Asia Pacific region is seen as the future growth engine owing to the massive underlying demand and focus on public transport infrastructure. With more mature and vibrant marketplace conditions prevailing in North America, it provides multinational companies an ideal base to tap regional opportunities. Meanwhile, emerging players from Asia Pacific also steadily strengthen their global profile.

Market Report Scope

Tram Systems Market Report Coverage

Report Coverage Details
Base Year: 2023 Market Size in 2024: US$ 136.67 Bn
Historical Data for: 2019 To 2023 Forecast Period: 2024 To 2031
Forecast Period 2024 to 2031 CAGR: 12.1% 2031 Value Projection: US$ 304.72 Bn 
Geographies covered:
  • North America: U.S. and Canada
  • Latin America: Brazil, Argentina, Mexico, and Rest of Latin America
  • Europe: Germany, U.K., France, Italy, Russia, and Rest of Europe
  • Asia Pacific: China, India, Japan, Australia, South Korea, ASEAN, and Rest of Asia Pacific
  • Middle East & Africa: GCC Countries, South Africa, and Rest of Middle East & Africa
Segments covered:
  • By Type: Straddle Monorail and Suspended Monorail
  • By Autonomy: Semi-autonomous, Completely Autonomous, and Manual
  • By Propulsion Type: Electric Monorail and Maglev Monorail 
Companies covered:

Bombardier Corporation, CRRC Corporation Limited, Hitachi Rail, Ansaldo STS, BYD Company ltd, General Electric, Alstom S.A., Thales Group, SIEMENS AG, Mitsubishi Electric, and ABB

Growth Drivers:
  • Piracy activity at sea
  • Terrorist activity targeting commercial vessels 
Restraints & Challenges:
  • High initial investment requirements
  • Limited routes in dense urban areas 

Key Developments

  • In February 2023, CRRC Changchun is a Chinese company specializing in the manufacturing of railway transportation equipment, including trains, locomotives, and related components. introduced the first medium-capacity monorail train in Chongqing, China. This straddle-type monorail boasts excellent climbing abilities, a tight turning radius, and great adaptability to different environments. Each car can carry up to 136 passengers and travels at a maximum speed of 80km/h. Its flexible design meets various passenger needs, while its lightweight construction and low noise make it environment-friendly.
  • In May 2022, Egypt unveiled the world's largest monorail system in Cairo, covering both eastern and western areas. Bombardier Transportation, a Canada-based company, successfully completed monorail projects.
  • In March 2021, a self-driving monorail started running in Wuhu, China, owing to a collaboration between Alstom is a multinational company known for its expertise in manufacturing railway equipment and systems, including trains, signaling solutions, and infrastructure and CRRC. It uses an Automatic Train Operation system called ATO GoA 4, which lets it run on its own. The Wuhu Line 1, built with an investment exceeding 8 billion yuan, has an elevated track and can go up to 80 kilometers per hour. With advanced ATO GoA4 technology, this monorail operates without a driver, managing itself independently.
  • In January 2020, Deutsche Bahn's hybrid shunting locomotive, nicknamed "hamburger," passed the full cabinet fire resistance test at the Qingyuan fire test laboratory in Guangdong. This achievement met the strict requirements of the EN 45545 fire protection design, which is currently the toughest standard for fire safety in the rail transit industry worldwide.
  • *Definition: The tram systems market involves the design, manufacturing, installation, and maintenance of rail-based public transportation infrastructure and vehicles within urban areas. It includes the production and sale of trams or streetcars that run on tram tracks as well as the necessary support systems like overhead wires, rails, tunnels, and stations. Companies in this market work to deliver sustainable and energy-efficient mass transit solutions to modernize public transport networks in cities worldwide and reduce road traffic congestion.

Market Segmentation

  • Type Insights (Revenue, USD BN, 2019 - 2031)
    • Straddle Monorail
    • Suspended Monorail
  •  Autonomy Insights (Revenue, USD BN, 2019 - 2031)
    • Semi-autonomous
    • Completely Autonomous
    • Manual
  •  Propulsion Type Insights (Revenue, USD BN, 2019 - 2031)
    • Electric Monorail
    • Maglev Monorail
  • Regional Insights (Revenue, USD BN, 2019 - 2031)
    • North America
      • U.S.
      • Canada
    • Latin America
      • Brazil
      • Argentina
      • Mexico
      • Rest of Latin America
    • Europe
      • Germany
      • U.K.
      • France
      • Italy
      • Russia
      • Rest of Europe
    • Asia Pacific
      • China
      • India
      • Japan
      • Australia
      • South Korea
      • ASEAN
      • Rest of Asia Pacific
    • Middle East & Africa
      • GCC Countries
      • South Africa
      • Rest of Middle East & Africa
  • Key Players Insights
    • Bombardier Corporation
    • CRRC Corporation Limited
    • Hitachi Rail
    • Ansaldo STS
    • BYD Company ltd
    • General Electric
    • Alstom S.A.
    • Thales Group
    • SIEMENS AG
    • Mitsubishi Electric
    • ABB

Frequently Asked Questions

The CAGR of the tram systems market is projected to be 12.1% from 2024 to 2031.

Piracy activity at sea and terrorist activity targeting commercial vessels are the major factors driving the growth of the tram systems market.

High initial investment requirements and limited routes in dense urban areas are the major factors hampering the growth of the tram systems market.

In terms of type, straddle monorail is estimated to dominate the market revenue share in 2024.

Bombardier Corporation, CRRC Corporation Limited, Hitachi Rail, Ansaldo STS, BYD Company ltd, General Electric, Alstom S.A., Thales Group, SIEMENS AG, Mitsubishi Electric, and ABB are the major players.

North America is expected to lead the tram systems market in 2024.

View Our Licence Options

Need a Custom Report?

We can customize every report - free of charge - including purchasing stand-alone sections or country-level reports

Customize Now

Want to Buy a Report but have a Limited Budget?

We help clients to procure the report or sections of the report at their budgeted price. Kindly click on the below to avail

Request Discount
Logo

Reliability and Reputation

ESOMAR
DUNS Registered
Clutch
DMCA Protected

9001:2015

Reliability and Reputation

27001:2022

Reliability and Reputation

EXISTING CLIENTELE

Joining thousands of companies around the world committed to making the Excellent Business Solutions.

View All Our Clients
trusted clients logo