We have an updated report [Version - 2024] available. Kindly sign up to get the sample of the report.
all report title image

Der globale Markt für Marine Propulsion Engine wurde aufUS$ 35.13 Bnin 2021 und wird voraussichtlich einen Wert erreichenUS$ 46,82 Bnvon2030beiCAGR von 3,3%zwischen2021 und 2030. Der Markt für Marine Propulsion Engine erlebt ein starkes Wachstum aufgrund steigender Nachfrage nach Seeverkehr und steigender Handelsvolumen in Frachtschiffen. Allerdings werden weltweit strenge Umweltvorschriften und -vorschriften das Wachstum des Marktes behindern. Der Markt wird in Motortyp, Anwendungstyp, Schiffstyp und Region segmentiert.

Global Marine Antriebsmaschine Markt: Regionale Einblicke

Basierend auf Geographie ist der globale Markt für Marine Propulsion Engine in Nordamerika, Europa, Asien-Pazifik, Lateinamerika und Middle East &Africa segmentiert.

Unter den Regionen wird erwartet, dass Nordamerika aufgrund steigender CO2-Emissionen und daraus resultierender strenger Vorschriften in der Region den höchsten Anteil im prognostizierten Zeitraum im globalen Markt für Marine Propulsion Engine gewinnt. Die Region prognostiziert, dass die Hersteller von Schiffsmotoren Motoren entwickeln, die in der Lage sind, die US EPA New Source Performance Standards (NSPS) zu erfüllen. Darüber hinaus wird der wachsende Seeverkehr die Schlüsselakteure auf dem Markt ermuntern, neue Produkte einzuführen, um neue Endverbraucher anzulocken, die das Wachstum des globalen Markts für Schiffsantriebsmotoren in der Region fördern sollen.

Darüber hinaus wird Europa voraussichtlich auch in naher Zukunft ein starkes Wachstum im globalen Markt für Marine Propulsion Engine beobachten, da Deutschland sich auf den Außenhandel orientiert und einen robusten und international wettbewerbsfähigen maritimen Sektor besitzt. Darüber hinaus werden aktive Schiffsbauaktivitäten und staatliche Ausgaben in FuE-Tätigkeiten in Übereinstimmung mit den Akteuren, die für die Entwicklung umweltfreundlicher Schiffsmotoren ausgegeben werden, zur Förderung des Wachstums des globalen Marktes für Schiffsantriebsmotoren entwickelt. Zum Beispiel erklärte der deutsche Wirtschafts- und Energieminister im Dezember 2018, dass die deutsche Regierung 45 Millionen Euro für die Forschung an emissionsfreien Schiffsmotoren zur Verfügung stellte, um einen nennenswerten Beitrag zum Energieübergang auf See zu leisten.

Abbildung 1. Global Marine Propulsion Motor Marktanteil (%), Nach Region, 2021

MARINE MOTORENMARKT

To learn more about this report, request a free sample copy

Global Marine Antriebsmaschine Markt Fahrer:

Das Handelswachstum wird in den heutigen Jahrzehnten als eines der Wahrzeichen der globalen Wirtschaft angesehen, und der Seeverkehr ist das Rückgrat des globalen Handels. Der Seeverkehr beeinflusst zunächst den Markt für Schiffsantriebe. Mit den verstärkten Lieferketten und der Öffnung neuer Märkte ist der Seeverkehr ein Katalysator für die wirtschaftliche Entwicklung der Nationen weltweit. Rund 90% der globalen Fracht sind Seefracht. Daher hängen die Länder stark von der Schiffshafeninfrastruktur ab, um ihren interkontinentalen Handel zu bedienen, der erwartet wird, dass das Wachstum des globalen Marktes für Schiffsantriebe

Die steigende Nachfrage nach dem Seeverkehr in den vergangenen Jahren hat zu einer späteren Expansion der Zahl der Einfuhren und Exporte weltweit geführt. Mit der Globalisierung, die im Herzen vieler Volkswirtschaften stattfindet, gibt es beschleunigte Chancen auf international gehandelte Waren, die eine überlegene Auswahl an zugänglichen Produkten zu verschiedenen Preisen anbieten. So hält die EU mehr als 15% des weltweiten Warenverkehrs und Importtonnage stetig bis 2020 um 5% angehoben.

Global Marine Antriebsmaschine Markt Möglichkeiten:

Viele Unternehmen kommen zusammen, um neue Technologien für den Schiffbau zu entwickeln, wie künstliche Intelligenz (KI), unbemannte intelligente Schiffe und umweltfreundliche Technologie, die erwartet wird, lukrative Gelegenheit im Wachstum des globalen Marktes für Schiffsantriebe bieten. Zum Beispiel haben China Shipbuilding Corporation und DNV im Mai 2020 eine gemeinsame Vereinbarung getroffen, um neue Generationsschiffe und Offshore-Engineering voranzubringen. Das kombinierte Unternehmen, China Shipbuilding Dalian Shipbuilding Industry Company (DSIC), kann an einem Forschungs- und Entwicklungsprojekt für das Wachstum eines neuen intelligenten Schiffes arbeiten.

Die Forscher nutzen die neueste Technologie für die Produktion von autonomen Schiffen und Schiffen, die genutzt werden können, um Daten zu sammeln, wo es für den Menschen weniger notwendig ist. Dieser Faktor wird voraussichtlich das Wachstum des globalen Marktes für Schiffsantriebsmotoren fördern. So erklärten im September 2020 ProMare, ein gemeinnütziges Unternehmen, das die Meeresforschung und -exploration fördert, und IBM die Fertigstellung und Errichtung des Mayflower Autonomous Ship (MAS).

Marine Propulsing Motor Markt Bericht Abdeckung

Bericht DeckungDetails
Basisjahr:2021Marktgröße 2021:US$ 35.13 Bn
Historische Daten für:2017 bis 2020Vorausschätzungszeitraum:2022 bis 2030
Vorausschätzungszeitraum 2022 bis 2030 CAGR:3.3%2030 Wertprojektion:US$ 46,82 Bn
Geographien:
  • Nordamerika: USA und Kanada
  • Lateinamerika: Brasilien, Argentinien, Mexiko und Rest Lateinamerikas
  • Europa: Deutschland, U.K., Spanien, Frankreich, Italien, Russland und Rest Europas
  • Asia Pacific: China, Indien, Japan, Australien, Südkorea, ASEAN und Rest Asien-Pazifik
  • Naher Osten: GCC Länder, Israel und Rest des Nahen Ostens
  • Afrika: Südafrika, Nordafrika und Zentralafrika
Segmente:
  • Nach Motortyp: Diesel, Gasturbine, Naturmotor, andere Motortypen
  • Nach Einsatzart: Passagier, Handel, Verteidigung
  • Nach Schiffstyp: Containerschiff, Tanker, Bulk Carrier, Offshore-Schiff, Marineschiff, Passagierschiff
Unternehmen:

Caterpillar Inc., Cummins Inc., Daihatsu Diesel Mfg. Co. Ltd, Hyundai Heavy Industries Co. Ltd, MAN SE (Man Diesel & Turbo), Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Ltd, Rolls-Royce PLC, Scania and Wartsila und Yanmar Co. Ltd.

Wachstumstreiber:
  • Steigende Container und Trockenguthandel
  • Nachfrage nach Rohöl
Zurückhaltungen & Herausforderungen:
  • Stringent Regeln und Vorschriften auf der ganzen Welt

Global Marine Antriebsmaschine Markt Trends:

Die Verringerung der CO2-Emissionen ist der Schwerpunkt für viele Schiffsbauer in der gegenwärtigen Situation, da die wichtigsten Schiffsbauer in saubereren Technologien investieren, um das Ziel von Null-Emissionen aus Betrieben zu erreichen. Es wird erwartet, dass dies ein wesentlicher Trend im globalen Markt für Schiffsantriebsmotoren ist.

Die Motoren werden jetzt schrittweise wirksam, da Regierungen weltweit verpflichtet sind, die maritime Industrie emissionsfrei zu machen. Schiffsbauer weltweit übernehmen auch umweltfreundliche Motoren in neuen Schiffen, um die neue Nachfrage aus dem Markt zu erfüllen, die erwartet wird, das Wachstum des globalen Marktes für Schiffsantriebe zu steigern. Zum Beispiel haben MAN Energy Solutions, Daewoo Shipbuilding & Marine Engineering (DSME) und HSD Engine (HSD) im Juli 2019 ein Projekt zur Digitalisierung von Schiffsmotorsystemen entwickelt.

Global Marine Antriebsmaschine Markt Rückhaltemittel:

Trotz eines vorübergehenden Eintauchens in Kohlendioxid und anderen Treibhausgasemissionen aufgrund der COVID-19 Pandemie geht die Welt immer noch auf einen Temperaturanstieg über 3° zurück. C, die das Wachstum des globalen Marktes für Schiffsantriebsmotoren verhindern wird.

Nach IMO-Emissionsnotwendigkeiten standen Schifffahrtsunternehmen mit niedrigen Erträgen und Unsicherheiten in Bezug auf die Einhaltung der Normen und verzögerte Bestellungen für neue Schiffe. Darüber hinaus werden die neuen Verordnungen verlangen, dass einige der bestehenden Flotten ausgetauscht werden, die erhebliche Kosten für die Betreiber benötigen. Dies dürfte das Wachstum des globalen Marktes für Schiffsantriebsmotoren behindern.

Abbildung 2. Global Marine Propulsion Motor Marktanteil (%), nach Anwendung Typ, 2021

MARINE MOTORENMARKT

To learn more about this report, request a free sample copy

Global Marine Antriebsmaschine Markt Segmentierung:

Der globale Markt für Schiffsantriebsmotoren wird in Motorentyp, Anwendungstyp, Schiffstyp und Region segmentiert.

Auf Basis des Motortyps wird der Markt in Diesel, Gasturbine, Erdgasmotor und andere Motortypen segmentiert. Von wem die Segment Gasturbine wird erwartet, dass der Markt über den prognostizierten Zeitraum zu dominieren, da Gasturbinen verschiedene Vorteile gegenüber Hubmotoren bieten, einschließlich höherer Leistungsdichte, niedrigerer Emissionen und einfacher Wartung. Die Einfachheit der direkten Antriebskraft und der höhere Wirkungsgrad wird in dieser Konfiguration durch Hubmotor angeboten.

Die Segment der Motoren erwartet wird auch in naher Zukunft ein robustes Wachstum, da viele Unternehmen diese effektiven natürlichen Motoren auf dem Markt ständig einführen. Zum Beispiel erklärte Rolls-Royce im Januar 2021 die Lieferung von zwei MTU 16V 4000 M55RN Gasmotoren an die in Singapur ansässige Marinegesellschaft Sembcorp Marine. Die Motoren werden geliefert, um das erste LNG-hybrid-getriebene Schiff zu bauen.

Basierend auf Anwendungstyp wird der Markt in Passagier, Handel und Verteidigung segmentiert. davon Passagiersegment wird erwartet, dass der Markt über den Prognosezeitraum dominiert wird, da LNG eine radikale Verschiebung durchläuft, wie es in einer umweltfreundlichen Fähre, Schlepper und anderen PSV-Betrieben betrieben wird, obwohl es weniger beliebt ist als Kraftstoff für kommerzielle Schiffe in den Passagierschiffen.

Die Segment Verteidigung wird auch erwartet, dass in naher Zukunft durch den Anstieg geopolitischer Spannungen und maritimer Streitigkeiten zwischen mehreren Ländern, die die Beschaffung von Schiffen in Verteidigung propagieren, ein robustes Wachstum zu verzeichnen ist.

Basierend auf dem Schiffstyp wird der Markt in Containerschiff, Tanker, Schüttgutträger, Offshore-Schiffschiffe und Passagierschiffe unterteilt. davon Segment Containerschiff wird erwartet, dass der Markt über den Prognosezeitraum dominiert wird, da Container die steigende Nachfrage aus den Schifffahrts- und Logistikbranchen weltweit beobachten. Trockencontainer reflektierten maximalen Marktanteil im globalen Schifffahrts-Containermarkt. Die weltweite Containerflotte hat 2019 ebenfalls um 5 % zugenommen und wird mit stetigem Wachstum prognostiziert.

Die Segment Tanker erwartet wird auch in naher Zukunft ein starkes Wachstum Tankers bezieht sich auf Öltanker, die hauptsächlich Rohöl und seine Nebenprodukte tragen. So werden Tanker durch die Veränderungen in der Ölindustrie weitgehend beeinträchtigt. Im Jahr 2019 verzeichneten Öltanker das zweithöchste Niveau der Lieferungen, was über 20% der gesamten Bruttotonnage entspricht.

Global Marine Antriebsmaschine Markt: Schlüsselentwicklungen

Im Juli 2021 entschied sich Caterpillar dafür, die Produktion seiner Mittelgeschwindigkeitsdieselmotoren auszubauen, und die Entscheidung betrifft Produktionsanlagen in Kiel, Deutschland und in China. Die Produktlinie der Division umfasste Hauptmotoren von bis zu 16.800 kW Leistung, mit HFO, Erdgas und dual-fuel powered Optionen zur Verfügung.

Im August 2021 führte Caterpillar Marine den Cat® C32B Hochleistungs-2000 HP Marine Motor ein, und dieser 2025 MHP Motor hat eine Nenndrehzahl von 2300 U/min mit verbesserter Leistungsdichte, aktualisierter Elektronik und einer verbesserten Injektor-Brennstoffanlage.

Im Juli 2020 erklärte das US Department of Transportation Saint Lawrence Seaway Development Corporation (SLSDC) es hatte die Lieferung seiner neuen 118-Fuß Eisbrecher Tug, der Seaway Guardian, in Massena, NY Erbaut von Gulf Island Shipyards in Houma, LA, das Schiff wird von einem Paar von EPA Tier 4 konformen Caterpillar Marine Motoren betrieben.

Im November 2021 organisierte Cummins India Limited derzeit seine erste Roadshow, um die „Made in India“ B6.7 Marine Engines zu präsentieren. Die Roadshow wurde in Zusammenarbeit mit Garuda Power Pvt. Ltd, dem Channel-Mitarbeiter für Cummins India Limited in West Bengal und Odisha vorbereitet.

Global Marine Antriebsmaschine Markt: Schlüsselunternehmen Einblicke

Der globale Markt für Schiffsantriebsmotoren ist sehr wettbewerbsfähig. Dies ist auf die kontinuierliche Einführung neuer Technologien aufgrund laufender FuE und Bemühungen von Wertschöpfungskettenteilnehmern zurückzuführen. Darüber hinaus übernehmen Schlüsselakteure verschiedene Unternehmenswachstumsstrategien, um ihre Präsenz auf regionaler und globaler Basis zu erweitern. Einige der Schlüsselakteure im globalen Markt für Schiffsantriebe sind:

Caterpillar Inc., Cummins Inc., Daihatsu Diesel Mfg. Co. Ltd, Hyundai Heavy Industries Co. Ltd, MAN SE (Man Diesel & Turbo), Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Ltd, Rolls-Royce PLC, Scania and Wartsila und Yanmar Co. Ltd..

*Definition: Schiffsantrieb ist der Mechanismus oder Verfahren zur Erzeugung von Schub, um ein Schiff oder Boot durch Wasser zu bewegen verwendet. Während Paddel und Segel noch auf einigen kleineren Booten verwendet werden, werden die meisten modernen Schiffe von mechanischen Systemen, bestehend aus einem Elektromotor oder Motor, der einen Propeller dreht, oder weniger häufig, in Pump-Jets, einem Laufrad betrieben.

Frequently Asked Questions

Die weltweite Schiffsantriebsmotorenmarktgröße wird auf US$ 36.04 Milliarden im Jahr 2022 geschätzt und wird voraussichtlich einen CAGR von 3,3% zwischen 2022 und 2030 zeigen.

Steigende Container und trockener Schüttgüterhandel fördern das Wachstum des Marktes.

Das Segment Passagier ist das führende Segment im Markt.

Strenge Regeln und Vorschriften auf der ganzen Welt ist ein Rückhaltefaktor auf dem Markt.

Hauptakteure auf dem Markt sind Caterpillar Inc., Cummins Inc., Daihatsu Diesel Mfg. Co. Ltd, Hyundai Heavy Industries Co. Ltd, MAN SE (Man Diesel & Turbo), Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Ltd, Rolls-Royce PLC, Scania and Wartsila und Yanmar Co. Ltd..

View Our Licence Options

Need a Custom Report?

We can customize every report - free of charge - including purchasing stand-alone sections or country-level reports

Customize Now

Want to Buy a Report but have a Limited Budget?

We help clients to procure the report or sections of the report at their budgeted price. Kindly click on the below to avail

Request Discount
Logo

Reliability and Reputation

ESOMAR
DUNS Registered
Clutch
DMCA Protected

9001:2015

Reliability and Reputation

27001:2022

Reliability and Reputation

EXISTING CLIENTELE

Joining thousands of companies around the world committed to making the Excellent Business Solutions.

View All Our Clients
trusted clients logo
© 2024 Coherent Market Insights Pvt Ltd. All Rights Reserved.

all report title image

The global Marine Propulsion Engine market was valued at US$ 35.13 Bn in 2021 and is forecast to reach a value of US$ 46.82 Bn by 2030 at a CAGR of 3.3% between 2021 and 2030. The Marine Propulsion Engine market is experiencing strong growth due to rising demand for maritime transport and rising trade volumes in cargo vessels. However, strict environment rules and regulations globally is expected to hamper growth of the market. The the market is segmented into engine type, application type, ship type, and region.

Global Marine Propulsion Engine Market: Regional Insights

Based on geography, the global Marine Propulsion Engine market is segmented into North America, Europe, Asia Pacific, Latin America, and Middle East &Africa.

Among regions, North America is expected to gain highest share over the forecast period in the global Marine Propulsion Engine market due to rising CO2 emissions and consequent strict regulations in the region.  The region forecasts to force marine engine manufacturers to develop engines that are capable of fulfilling the US EPA New Source Performance Standards (NSPS). Furthermore, growing seaborne trade will encourage key players in the market to introduce new products to attract new end users, which is expected to augment the growth of the global marine propulsion engine market in the region.

Furthermore, Europe is also expected to witness robust growth in the global Marine Propulsion Engine market in near future as Germany is oriented toward foreign trade and has a robust and internationally competitive maritime sector. Furthermore, active shipbuilding activities and government expenditure in R&D activities in accordance with players spending to develop eco- friendly marine engines is projected to propel the growth of the global marine propulsion engine market. For instance, In December 2018, the German economy and energy minister declared that the German government set aside 45 million euros for research in zero-emission ship engines to make a noteworthy contribution to the energy transition at sea.

Figure 1. Global Marine Propulsion Engine Market Share (%), By Region, 2021

Marine Propulsion Engine  | Coherent Market Insights

Global Marine Propulsion Engine Market Drivers:

Trade growth is regarded as one of the hallmarks of the global economy in current decades, and maritime transport is the backbone of global trade. Maritime trades initially influence the marine propulsion engine market. With the increased supply chains and opening of new markets, maritime transport has been a catalyst for the economic development of nations globally. Around 90% of global freight is seaborne. As a result, countries heavily depend on ship port infrastructure to serve their intercontinental trade which is expected to drive the growth of the global marine propulsion engine market

The rise in demand for maritime transport past few years has led to a subsequent expansion in the number of imports and exports globally. With globalization taking place in the heart of many economies, there are accelerating chances of internationally trading goods offering a superior range of accessible products at various prices. For instance, the EU holds for over 15% of the world’s trade in goods, and import tonnage steadily raised by 5% until 2020.

Global Marine Propulsion Engine Market Opportunities:

Many companies are coming together to develop new technologies for shipbuilding, such as artificial intelligence (AI), unmanned intelligent ships, and eco-friendly technology which is expected to offer lucrative opportunity in the growth of the global marine propulsion engine market. For instance, in May 2020, China Shipbuilding Corporation and DNV entered a joint agreement to advance new generation ships and offshore engineering. The combined entity, China Shipbuilding's Dalian Shipbuilding Industry Company (DSIC), may work on a Research & Development project for the growth of a new smart ship.

The researchers are employing the latest technology for the production of autonomous ships and vessels that can be utilized to gather data where there is less necessity for humans. This factor is anticipated to fuel the growth of the global marine propulsion engine market. For instance, in September 2020, ProMare, a non-profit corporation that promotes marine research and exploration, and IBM declared the completion and establishment of the Mayflower Autonomous Ship (MAS).

CMI table icon

Marine Propulsion Engine Market Report Coverage

Report Coverage Details
Base Year: 2021 Market Size in 2021: US$ 35.13 Bn
Historical Data for: 2017 to 2020 Forecast Period: 2022 to 2030
Forecast Period 2022 to 2030 CAGR: 3.3% 2030 Value Projection: US$ 46.82 Bn
Geographies covered:
  • North America: U.S. and Canada
  • Latin America: Brazil, Argentina, Mexico, and Rest of Latin America
  • Europe: Germany, U.K., Spain, France, Italy, Russia, and Rest of Europe
  • Asia Pacific: China, India, Japan, Australia, South Korea, ASEAN, and Rest of Asia Pacific
  • Middle East: GCC Countries, Israel, and Rest of Middle East
  • Africa: South Africa, North Africa, and Central Africa
Segments covered:
  • By Engine Type: Diesel, Gas Turbine, Natural Engine, Other Engine Types
  • By Application Type: Passenger, Commercial, Defense
  • By Ship Type: Container Ship, Tanker, Bulk Carrier, Offshore Vessel, Naval Ship, Passenger Ship
Companies covered:

Caterpillar Inc., Cummins Inc., Daihatsu Diesel Mfg. Co. Ltd, Hyundai Heavy Industries Co. Ltd, MAN SE (Man Diesel & Turbo), Mitsubishi heavy Industries Ltd, Rolls-Royce PLC, Scania and Wartsila and Yanmar Co. Ltd

Growth Drivers:
  • Increasing containers and dry bulk trade
  • Growth in demand for crude oil 
Restraints & Challenges:
  • Stringent rules and regulations across the globe

 Global Marine Propulsion Engine Market Trends:

Decrease in carbon emission is the focal point for many shipbuilders in the present situation, as chief shipbuilders are spending in cleaner technologies to achieve the goal of zero emissions from operations. This is expected to act as a key trend in the global marine propulsion engine market.

Engines are now becoming progressively effective, as governments across the world are committed to make the marine industry emission-free. Shipbuilders worldwide are also adopting eco-friendly engines in new vessels to cater the new demand from the market which is anticipated to boost the growth of the global marine propulsion engine market. For instance, in July 2019, MAN Energy Solutions, Daewoo Shipbuilding & Marine Engineering (DSME), and HSD Engine (HSD) partnered on a project to digitize ship engine systems.

Global Marine Propulsion Engine Market Restraints:

Despite of a temporary dip in carbon dioxide and other greenhouse gas emissions occurred due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the world is still heading toward a temperature rise in excess of 3°C which is anticipated to hinder the growth of the global marine propulsion engine market.

As per IMO emission necessities, shipping companies faced with low earnings and uncertainties regarding compliance with the norms and delayed placing orders for new vessels. Further, the new regulations will require exchanging some of the existing fleet which will need significant costs upon the operators. This is expected to hamper the growth of the global marine propulsion engine market.

Figure 2. Global Marine Propulsion Engine Market Share (%), By Application Type, 2021

Marine Propulsion Engine  | Coherent Market Insights

Global Marine Propulsion Engine Market Segmentation:

The global marine propulsion engine market report is segmented into engine type, application type, ship type and region.

Based on the engine type, the market is segmented into diesel, gas turbine, natural engine and other engine types. Out of which the Gas Turbine Segment is expected to dominate the market over the forecast period as gas turbines offer various benefits over reciprocating engines, including higher power density, lower emissions, and ease of maintenance. The simplicity of direct propulsion and the higher efficiency is offered in that configuration by reciprocating engine. 

The Natural Engine Segment is also expected to witness robust growth in near future, as many companies are constantly introducing these effective natural engines in the market. For instance, in January 2021, Rolls-Royce declared the supply of two MTU 16V 4000 M55RN gas engines to the Singapore-based marine company Sembcorp Marine. The engines are supplied to construct the first LNG-hybrid-powered ship.

Based on application type the market is segmented into passenger, commercial, and defense. Out of which Passenger Segment is expected to dominate the market over the forecast period as LNG is undergoing a radical shift as it is operated in an eco- friendly ferry, tug, and other PSV operations, even though it is less popular as a fuel for commercial vessels in the passenger ships.

The Defense Segment is also expected to witness robust growth in near future due to the rise in geopolitical tensions and maritime disputes between several countries propelling the procurements of naval vessels in Defense.

Based on ship type the market is divided into container ship, tanker, bulk carrier, offshore vessel naval ships and passenger ships. Out of which Container Ship Segment is expected to dominate the market over the forecast period as Containers have been observing rising demand from the shipping and logistics sectors across the globe. Dry containers reflected maximum market share in the global shipping containers market. The world container fleet also progressed by 5% in 2019 and is projected to grow at a steady rate.

The Tanker Segment is also expected to witness robust growth in near future Tankers refers to oil tankers that mainly carry crude oil and its by-products. Thus, tankers are largely prejudiced by the changes taking place in the oil industry. In 2019, oil tankers recorded the second-highest level of ship deliveries, representing over 20% of total gross tonnage.

Global Marine Propulsion Engine Market: Key Developments

In July 2021, Caterpillar chose to phase out production of its medium-speed diesel engines, and the decision affects production plants in Kiel, Germany and in China. The division's product lineup comprised main engines of up to 16,800 kW in power, with HFO, natural gas and dual-fuel powered options available.

In August 2021, Caterpillar Marine introduced the Cat® C32B high- performance 2000 HP marine engine, and this 2025 MHP engine has a rated speed of 2300 rpm with enhanced power density, updated electronics, and an improved unit injector fuel system.

In July 2020, The US Department of Transportation’s Saint Lawrence Seaway Development Corporation (SLSDC) declared it had taken delivery of its new 118-foot icebreaking tug, the Seaway Guardian, in Massena, NY Built by Gulf Island Shipyards in Houma, LA, the vessel is fueled by a pair of EPA Tier 4 compliant Caterpillar Marine engines.

In November 2021, Cummins India Limited, currently organized its first roadshow to showcase it’s ‘Made in  India’  B6.7  Marine  Engines.  The roadshow was prepared in association with Garuda Power Pvt. Ltd, the channel collaborator for Cummins India Limited in West Bengal and Odisha.

Global Marine Propulsion Engine Market: Key Companies Insights

The global marine propulsion engine market is highly competitive. This is attributed to continuous launch of new technologies due to ongoing R &D and efforts by value chain participants. Moreover, key players are adopting various business growth strategies in order to expand their presence on regional as well as global basis. Some of the key players in the global marine propulsion engine market are:

Caterpillar Inc., Cummins Inc., Daihatsu Diesel Mfg. Co. Ltd, Hyundai Heavy Industries Co. Ltd, MAN SE (Man Diesel & Turbo), Mitsubishi heavy Industries Ltd, Rolls-Royce PLC, Scania and Wartsila and Yanmar Co. Ltd.

*Definition: Marine propulsion is the mechanism or method utilized to produce thrust to move a ship or boat through water. While paddles and sails are still utilized on some smaller boats, most modern ships are fueled by mechanical systems comprising of an electric motor or engine turning a propeller, or less frequently, in pump-jets, an impeller.

Marine propulsion engine system is the most commonly used as diesel engine system which converts mechanical energy from thermal forces. Diesel propulsion systems are mostly employed in almost all types of vessels along with small boats and recreational vessels.

Market Dynamics:

Marine hybrid propulsions are initially utilized in merchant ships, recreational boats, and the naval ships. The electric propulsion system utilizes diesel generators and the gas turbines. Diesel generators mainly produce three phase electricity which is anticipated to fuel the growth of the global marine propulsion engine market. The fuel efficient propulsion system is based on highly adaptable mechanism which is also projected to boost the growth of the global marine propulsion engine market.  

On contrary, the power output and efficacy of diesel engines are far to be matched with any other fuel type currently. Still, the entrance of marine engines and advancement and enhancement in other engines is projected to hamper the growth of global marine propulsion engine market.

Key features of the study:

  • This report provides in-depth analysis of the global marine propulsion engine market, and provides market size (US$ Billion) and compound annual growth rate (CAGR%) for the forecast period (2022–2030), considering 2021 as the base year
  • It elucidates potential revenue opportunities across different segments and explains attractive investment proposition matrices for this market
  • This study also provides key insights about market drivers, restraints, opportunities, new product launches or approval, market trends,  regional outlook, and competitive strategies adopted by key players
  • It profiles key players in the global marine propulsion engine market based on the following parameters – company highlights, products portfolio, key highlights, financial performance, and strategies
  • Major players in the global marine propulsion engine market are Caterpillar Inc., Cummins Inc., Daihatsu Diesel Mfg. Co. Ltd, Hyundai Heavy Industries Co. Ltd, MAN SE (Man Diesel & Turbo), Mitsubishi heavy Industries Ltd, Rolls-Royce PLC, Scania and Wartsila and Yanmar Co. Ltd.
  • Insights from this report would allow marketers and the management authorities of the companies to make informed decisions regarding their future product launches, type up-gradation, market expansion, and marketing tactics
  • The global marine propulsion engine market report caters to various stakeholders in this industry including investors, suppliers, product manufacturers, distributors, new entrants, and financial analysts
  • Stakeholders would have ease in decision-making through various strategy matrices used in analyzing the global marine propulsion engine market

Detailed Segmentation:

  • Global Marine Propulsion Engine Market, By Engine Type: 
    • Diesel
    • Gas Turbine
    • Natural Engine
    • Other Engine Types
  • Global Marine Propulsion Engine Market, By Application Type: 
    • Passenger
    • Commercial
    • Defense
  • Global Marine Propulsion Engine Market, By Ship Type: 
    • Container Ship
    • Tanker
    • Bulk Carrier
    • Offshore Vessel
    • Naval Ship
    • Passenger Ship
  • Global Marine Propulsion Engine Market, By Geography: 
    • North America
    • Europe
    • Asia-Pacific
    • Rest of the World
  • Company Profiles:
    • Caterpillar Inc.
    • Cummins Inc.
    • Daihatsu Diesel Mfg. Co. Ltd
    • Hyundai Heavy Industries Co. Ltd
    • MAN SE (Man Diesel & Turbo)
    • Mitsubishi heavy Industries Ltd
    • Rolls-Royce PLC
    • Scania
    • Wartsila
    • Yanmar Co. Ltd

Frequently Asked Questions

The global marine propulsion engine market size is estimated to be valued at US$ 36.04 Billion in 2022 and is expected to exhibit a CAGR of 3.3% between 2022 and 2030.
Increasing containers and dry bulk trade are fueling the growth of the market.
The Passenger segment is the leading component segment in the market.
Strict rules and regulations across the globe is a restraining factor on the market.
Major players in the market are Caterpillar Inc., Cummins Inc., Daihatsu Diesel Mfg. Co. Ltd, Hyundai Heavy Industries Co. Ltd, MAN SE (Man Diesel & Turbo), Mitsubishi heavy Industries Ltd, Rolls-Royce PLC, Scania and Wartsila and Yanmar Co. Ltd.

Related Reports

EXISTING CLIENTELE

Joining thousands of companies around the world committed to making the Excellent Business Solutions.

View All Our Clients
trusted clients logo